City Council

2016-2017 City CouncilAs established by City Charter, the Golden City Council is the legislative and governing body of the City and may exercise all powers conferred upon and possessed by the City except those otherwise restricted by the Charter or by statute. The Council adopts laws, ordinances, and resolutions as it deems proper.

There are seven members of the City Council. Four are elected from wards, two are elected from districts (each district is comprised of two wards–district one is wards one and two– district two is wards three and four), and the mayor is elected at-large.

Council HotlineThe Council sets direction for the City and decides all policy matters. The Council appoints the municipal attorney, the municipal judge, and the city manager. Council Chambers are located in City Hall at 911 10th Street. Please check the Community Calendar for information on meeting dates.

City Council agendas, meetings, web casts, and schedules are available for public viewing, as well as archives from previous meetings through 2009. For archives from earlier meetings, please contact Susan Brooks, the City Clerk, for more information.

COG Mesa

 Golden was named after Thomas L. Golden,
a gold prospector who arrived in Jefferson County in 1858.

Additional Resources

City of Golden, Colorado
COG Mesa